[The Attorney] One can change the world

 

As opening Netflix, I saw Recently Updated movie, . It has drawn attention from audience with a story of an attorney fighting for repression of the government. I was pleased to see Netflix have this since It always had been on my wish list to watch.

The hottest keyword of last few months has been “President Park” and “Corruption”. The bribe for entrance exam of University evoked people to get interest in politics, which made lots of scandals exposed. The people rose up against the corruption which had existed around us but not come up on the surface. Candles were lightened up in Korea, even in countries abroad, for showing Article 1 from Constitution, “The sovereignty of the Republic of Korea shall reside in the people, and all state authority shall emanate from the people.”

wk-attorney0207-1
The main character, Song Woo-Seok, is on the court in <The Attorney> (Reference : Well go USA Entertainment)

The movie was on the Black List, secretly selected by politicians who don’t like criticizing social problems. Of course, at the time when the power of government is over people’s right, the movie is prohibited to be screened on public TV channels. Now, people can watch it on Netflix as many as they want, which has huge meaning that Korean media is getting freedom from invisible pressure.

There is Korean old saying that Beating eggs against a rock, meaning as same as Beating one’s head against a wall. The main character says that it’s impossible to make a crack on the rock with eggs. However, Eggs is alive while the rock has no life, and these eggs will run over beyond the rock.

In the movie, one normal lawyer stands on the weak side against oppression. He had other lawyers in Busan gather up for resistance. The movie itself worked same around. Despite the circumstances, this movie moved audience’s mind. These kinds of slight movements have shown up in different places in Korea. The huge candlelight rally that became significant event in Korean Democracy history started from small things happening in the past.

One person changes the world. One attorney’s courage changed the others’ mind, making demonstrations in Busan area back in 80’s. Each of us has an impact on the world. The movie gives us a chance to think what “I” could do for making better world.

( Reference (main image) : http://www.wellgousa.com/press/the-attorney )

Official Trailer in English

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Got to love it when you come across an unexpected gem on Netflix. That’s what I love most about it, finding stuff I didn’t even know I was looking for. The fact that it was on the Black List makes me want to watch this even more. I have a huge, huge love for foreign film, so in many different ways this is right up my alley. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention. Going to see if I can find it on my Netflix too. Great review by the way.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sure. It sounds great 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome! Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for some more info regarding the platform. Would love to hear from you. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

